The Pocket Patriot: An Introduction to the Principles of Freedom

The Pocket Patriot: An Introduction to the Principles of Freedom




Product Description

by George Grant

The Pocket Patriot is a colletion of the historical documents of freedom and a sampling of the eloquent expressions of the legacy of democracy in America. It is a handbook on what has defined Americans in the past so that future generations will never forget the cost of liberty.

Beginning with the contemplations of Christopher Columbus on the land he discovered, this short collection of twenty-six historical documents and three biographical sections summarizes more than five hundred years of the noblest experiment in history. It included the Mayflower Compact, the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the full text of its twenty-seven amendments, and the Gettysburg Address.

This is a concise survey of the foundational ideas, documents, events, and personalities of America. It also is an ideal resource for Americans contemplating the direction the nation will take in the third American century.

Table of Contents:
The Apologia of Columbus
American Spirit by Arthur C. Coxe
Flawless Heart by James Russell Lowell
The Mayflower Compact
Five Kernels of Corn by Hezekiah Butterworth
Awaken by Lawrence Tribble
Liberty or Death by Patrick Henry
Paul Revere's Ride by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
The Divine Source of Liberty by Samuel Adams
Declaration of Independence Lexington by John Greenleaf Whittier The Founding Fathers The Constitution The Bill of Rights Ammendments to the Constitution The Forgotten Presidents (Presidents of the First Continental Congress and under the Articles of Confederation)
Washington's Farewell Address
My Country 'Tis of Thee by Samuel Smith
The Star Spangled Banner by Frances Scott Key (all four verses!)
A House Divided by Abraham Lincoln
The Sullivan Ballou Letter
The Gettysburg Address by Abraham Lincoln
Pledge of Allegiance
Atlanta Exposition Address by Booker T. Washington
Cross of Gold by William Jennings Bryan
The New Colossus by Emma Lazarus
The Man With the Muck-Rake by Theodore Roosevelt
Victory Bells by Grace Conkling
The Lives of the Presidents (through Clinton)

256 pages

ISBN: 1581820925
EAN: 9781581820928